What’s this lot looking at?

Standard
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Twitchers – St Annes beach

Another glorious day in these parts and it’s impossible to turn down the opportunity for a beach walk and enjoy the sounds and smells of the seaside.

A lonesome sanderling scuttles along the seashore.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sanderling

A solitary man enjoys his time and space.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Time and space

A gaggle of twitchers are onto something in the sand-dunes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What’s going on?

I see a little bird flitting about. Being a novice I think it might be a bunting of sorts, and approach one of the birders who tells me it’s a Desert Wheatear.  He invites me to look down his scope.

It’s lovely.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Desert wheatear

Desert Wheatears are rare in these parts; this dainty little bird looks happy enough catching insects and grubs.

I wonder what will happen to it.  Has it been blown off course or just stopped off for a break on its journey to warmer climes?  Will it stay?  Will it find enough to eat?  Will it survive?  I hope so.

From a distance I take snapshots. I’m really pleased with my amateur offerings!

Good luck little Desert Wheatear.

Leave a Reply

